• Submitted by: NFCC Office of College Advancement

NFCC Honors Top Students and Leaders at Honors Convocation

Sabrina Reddy receives Student of the Year award; Walter Boatright honored as “Friend to the College”

MADISON, FL – North Florida Community College’s brightest students and student leaders were honored during the college’s Honors Convocation April 7 at the NFCC Fine Arts Auditorium. Students from various academic areas and student organizations received recognition for outstanding achievement and character during the 2014-2015 academic year. NFCC faculty and staff announced each award recipient as NFCC President John Grosskopf, Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Sharon Erle, and Dean of Enrollment Services Mary Anne Wheeler presented the awards.

“Honors Convocation is a night that we here at the college look forward to each and every year,” said NFCC President John Grosskopf. “With Honors Convocation comes an opportunity for the best and brightest here at North Florida Community College to be recognized as well as celebrated alongside the leaders that serve our campus and community.”

Sabrina Reddy of Hamilton County received NFCC’s prestigious “Student of the Year” award. Reddy currently is a member of NFCC’s Business Club, Save Our Animal Resources (SOAR), a member of Phi Theta Kappa, as well as a member of the Sentinel Upstage Players community theater group. She is currently pursuing an Associates of Science Degree in Business Administration and maintains a 4.0 GPA. Reddy also received the NFCC Business Club’s 2014-2015 Outstanding Member of the Year Award.

“In deciding the ‘Student of the Year Award’ we look for several criteria; excellence in Academics as well as leadership and service to the college and community, ” said NFCC Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Sharon Erle. “This student [Sabrina Reddy] clearly demonstrates all of those things.”

In addition to recognizing outstanding students, NFCC also named its 2014-2015 “Friend to the College.” Mr. Walter Boatright was recognized for showing outstanding support and dedication to NFCC and our community.

Boatright, a former NFCC District Board of Trustees member, is no stranger to the college or to education. In addition to serving on the NFCC District Board of Trustees from February of 2003 to January of 2008, Boatright has also served as Suwannee County Superintendent of Schools and now serves as Director of Career, Technical, and Adult Education and Principal of Suwannee-Hamilton Technical Center in Live Oak. In 2013 Boatright also returned to NFCC as speaker for the spring commencement ceremony.

“The ‘Friend to the College’ award is given to someone who has stepped out of the role of support and helps guide the college towards a prosperous future of service and success,” said Grosskopf. “This is a man [Boatright] who is dedicated to providing service and opportunities to students in this part of the state.”

NFCC’s Honors Convocation ceremony is held annually in April to recognize outstanding students and celebrate student achievement prior to NFCC’s Spring Term commencement ceremony in May.



Randy Woods Outstanding Student Award – Computer Science

Codie Stach Outstanding Student Award – Associates Degree Nursing

Brittany Brearley Outstanding Student Award – Promising Scholar Award

Sabrina Reddy Member of the Year – Business Club Award

Rachel Sullivan Member of the Year – Sentinel Upstage Players Award

Sabrina Reddy Student of the Year Award


Amy Carter Outstanding Student Award – Education


Laura Miles Outstanding Student Award – Digital Media

Jade Buchanan Outstanding Student Award – Economics

Kaley Koon Outstanding Student Award – Metal Sculpture

Darby Guyton Outstanding Student Award – Anatomy & Physiology


Ireland Wood Outstanding Student Award – Drawing

Quneisha Livingston Outstanding Student Award – Sociology

Sara Taylor Outstanding Student Award – History

Allison Cone Outstanding Student Award – World Religion

Amanda Gillean Outstanding Student Award – Ceramics

Trey Williams Outstanding Student Award – Design

Allison Cone Outstanding Student Award – Biology

Savannah Burns Outstanding Student Award – Microbiology

Allison Cone Outstanding Student Award – Mathematics

Aime Mendez Outstanding Student Award – Medical Administrative Specialist

Chris Stanley Outstanding Student Award – Pharmacy Technician

Allison Cone Member of the Year – CSSTRIDE Award

Laphiammo Cooks Member of the Year – Gaming & Technology Award

Susan McCool Member of the Year – PTK Award

Sara Taylor Member of the Year – Sentinel Service Corps Award

Sara Taylor Member of the Year – Student Government Association Award

Brian Crumly Member of the Year – SOAR Award

Samantha Crumly Outstanding Student Award – Environmental Science


Kristin Thompson Outstanding Student Award – Accounting

Kristin Thompson Outstanding Student Award – Business

Tia Jackson Outstanding Student Award – Human Development

Paula Jordan Outstanding Student Award – Humanities

Dustin McCook Outstanding Student Award – Philosophy

Thuy Tran Outstanding Student Award – Chemistry

Thuy Tran Outstanding Student Award – Calculus

Brian Snipes Outstanding Student Award – Associates Degree Nursing (Bridge Track)

Walter Boatright Friend to the College


Luke Kallschmidt Outstanding Student Award – Psychology

Luke Kallschmidt Outstanding Student Award – Literature

Kristina Portwood Outstanding Student Award – Painting

Nicholas Sadler Member of the Year – Young Engineers Award



The Madison News

The Madison News © 2014 - 2024 All Rights Reserved